The Council of Ministers, on the proposal of the Ministry for Ecological Transition, approved on Friday a Royal Decree on measures to reduce national emissions of certain air pollutants. With this decision, the Government establishes new national commitments to reduce emissions, which must be met by 2020 and 2030, for sulfur dioxide (SO2), nitrogen oxides (NOx), non-methane volatile organic compounds (NMVOC), ammonia ( NH3) and fine particles PM 2.5.

With this Royal Decree, Directive (EU) 2016/2284 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 14 December 2016, which establishes the emission reduction commitments of the Member States for anthropogenic atmospheric emissions ( better known as Ceiling Directive).

Reducing the emissions of these acidifying, eutrophying and ozone precursor pollutants will help to strengthen the protection of human health and the environment and improve the quality of the air we breathe. For this, it will be important that the affected sectors integrate the environmental variable in their activities, so that the investment moves towards cleaner and more efficient technologies.

The standard establishes the obligation of the State to approve a National Pollution Control Program to establish measures applicable to all relevant sectors, such as agriculture, power generation, industry, road transport, water transport. , domestic heating, the use of non-road mobile machines and the use and manufacture of solvents. The program will contain measures that promote a more sustainable behavior of the mentioned sectors and that allows to guarantee the fulfillment of the national commitments of reduction of emissions.

This Program must be approved and submitted to the European Commission by April 2019 at the latest and must be reviewed periodically.

Impact on ecosystems

The royal decree also establishes the creation of a network to monitor the impact of air pollution, in order to monitor its negative effects on ecosystems. This pollution monitoring network in natural and semi-natural ecosystems is already being established and covers three biogeographic regions of the Iberian Peninsula: the Atlantic, the Mediterranean and the Alpine. Both the station sites and the measured parameters should be communicated to the European Commission and the European Environment Agency. The Ministry for Ecological Transition will set the points that make up this network using, where possible, sites and data collected according to other measurement programs already underway

Additionally, the approval of this royal decree updates the regulation of the Spanish System of Inventory and Projections of Emissions to the Atmosphere (SEI) that until now was regulated by an agreement of the Delegate Commission of the Government for Economic Affairs.

Via | AgroDigital.